IdN – International Design Notwork

Posted on March 9, 2011

0


I get excited when parcels or things in 300gsm+ packaging turn up on my desk. Unless they turn out to be the latest issue of IdN.

Don’t get me wrong: I’ve given this stroke-inducing contentless visual nightmare more than its fair chance. Okay, that’s not entirely true. It has content but you have to wade through a swamp of LOOKATMELOOKATME! visual vomit to find it. To be fair, it’s a magazine about design, not words. But I expect my design magazines to be well designed, not showing off, Pro Hart style. My high-school design teacher, Mac the Fraggle, taught me that good design required me to “SIMPLIFY, SIMPLIFY, SIMPLIFY!” and as we all know, everything you learn in high school is true.

This is a page from the last issue, the theme of which (to the best of my ability to read white-on-silver copy) was: less is more.

The moral of this page is clearly 'more is more'.

Speaking of white-on-silver, is that an ad on the left or ‘editorial’? I honestly can’t tell the difference in this thing.

brb I'm just getting my invisible ink glasses.

Please, just stop.

